Beira, Sofala, Mozambique
Equipment and Infrastructures
A work by architect Francisco de Castro from a plan of 1956-1957, it was inaugurated on the 14th August 1958, replacing, in a sense, the unsuccessful Grande Hotel da Beira. Its construction was not without conflict, as suggested by Saul Brandão, in an interview published some days before its inauguration: “This construction served, in several aspects, as a field of experience for some people, whose reflections of this experience resulted in great upsets and concerns and delays in the opening of the hotel that led to the loss of thousands and thousands of contos [money]”. It had 115 rooms and eight suites. The Sociedade de Construções da Beira Ltd. was the owner of the building (Saul Brandão, Ramiro de Carvalho and Predial Ultramarina), and the hotel was leased to the Empresa de Turismo da Beira Ltd., formed by the same members. The interior was also embellished with murals by Jorge Garizo do Carmo. The façade is dominated by horizontal lines, its rhythms created by the balconies.