Main House and Chapel of the Poço Comprido Sugar Plantation
Vicência, Pernambuco, Brazil
The municipality of Vicência began to be settled in the 18th century and became fully established in 1850 when the owner, Vicência Barbosa de Melo, ordered the construction of a chapel dedicated to Saint Anne close to her house on a sugar plantation. Being located in a strategic position on the road to the town of Goiana, the settlement grew, playing a role in the history of Pernambuco in 1825 when it served as a refuge for Friar Caneca at the time of the Confederation of Ecuador. It was made a parish in 1879, raised to the status of a town in 1891, and in 1928 gained permanent autonomy as a municipality. The Poço Comprido sugar plantation, 12 kilometres from the centre of the municipality, shares the traditional design of the first such complexes created in Brazil. Some of the surviving features are unique in the region of Pernambuco, such as the pillory and the wooden-floored veranda of the main house. An inner passage connects the first floor of the house to the choir and tribunes of the chapel, providing direct access for the owners and thus ensuring the hierarchical separation of masters, workers and slaves. The chapel features a main façade with baroque features, two side altars and a high altar with a wooden ceiling and fresco. The complex of the two buildings was classified as architectural heritage by IPHAN in 1962.