Lat: -23.522653117551000, Long: -46.836804096455000
São Paulo, Brazil
Historical Background and Urbanism
Vila de São Paulo and the surrounding areas had unique characteristics that made them different from other Brazilian regions. The region had a more autonomous life compared to the metropolis and the main nuclei on the Brazilian coast. The priests of the Society of Jesus founded a large number of villages on the plateau, aimed at converting the Indians and protecting them against slavery. Some of the villages administered by the priests belonged to the Crown, such as São Miguel de Ururaí, Nossa Senhora dos Pinheiros, etc. Other villages were a result of the exclusive initiative of the priests, namely Carapicuíba and Embu. Aldeia de Carapicuíba was built on lands donated by Jerônimo Leitão and Afonso Sardinha as a reserve for Indians under the administration of the Society of Jesus. Due to the overtilling of the soil, Father Belchior de Pontes moved the reserve to Itapecerica in 1698. The original Aldeia de Carapicuíba was partially destroyed by the Jesuits to prevent the Indians from remaining there. Later on, in 1727, it was rebuilt making use of the remains of the former settlement. The village grew around a rectangular square which was lined with small terraced houses of rammed earth with gable roofs. This simple village is one of the finest examples of the use of the lath and plaster and rammed earth technique in São Paulo. The complex was listed by iphan on 13th May, 1940, and by condephaat (ex officio) on 24th July, 1974.